Skip to content
April 7, 2009 / City Living (Boston)

And now for the Kugel

 

Sydney's great-Bubby's recipe for Potato Passover Kugel

Sydney and Henry comparing Passover recipes. The following is Sydney's great-Bubby's recipe for Potato Passover Kugel.

 

The kugel is what really scares me.  It’s my friend’s bubby’s recipe and she makes it so well.  Last year when I tried to make it, it just wasn’t quite right.  It might have been that I used the food processor or that I used the box grater (I don’t even remember what I did).  My mother had to search my friend’s kitchen just to find the recipe and copy it down, maybe she didn’t write something down, or maybe there’s information that’s just found between the lines.  This year, Samantha is only a phone call and barely one town away.  I am going to talk the recipe through with her before I attempt it.  Wish me luck.

Bubby Fanny’s Potato Kougal (Passover)

6 potatoes (I have to find out what she usually uses)*
1 onion (I assume it is a yellow onion, but I will check)

Grate in cuisinart, drain in sieve.

Add 2 eggs, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 3 Tbsp oil, 2 Tbsp matzoh meal

Grease and heat pan in the ove.

Cook 1 hour at 400°F

Cook in a 9×13 Pyrex.

I like it when the top is crunchy.  The smell of the kugel straight out of the oven is so good.  Let’s hope I get it right this year.

This recipe from the Boston Globe, suggests Russet potatoes, which is what I typically use for Kugel or Latkes.

Leave a Reply

